Artist: Níall Vallely, Paul Meehan, Caoímhín Vallely

Name: Buille

Released: 2005

Label: Non renseigné

Format: Cristal

Total playing:

Price : 12.50 €

Sold Out

Ref.: CR01239NA


Buille (Níall Vallely, Paul Meehan, Caoímhín Vallely)

Buille was formed in 2004 by Armagh born brothers Niall and Caoimhín Vallely along with Paul Meehan and Brian Morrissey as a vehicle to perform a body of new tunes written in a traditional style with contemporary arrangements. The resultant sound was picked up on by Donald Shaw and Vertical Records who immediately offered to produce and release the groups’ debut album. “Buille” was released in 2005 to rave reviews and was described in the Irish Times:
"Buille is as fresh a breath that's blown through traditional (and roots) circles in a long, long time."
The group went on to tour extensively across Ireland, the UK, Europe, USA and Canada and along the way performed at such prestigious festivals as Celtic Connections in Glasgow, St. Chartier Festival in Central France, Festival de Cornouaille in Quimper, Brittany, Beo Festival at the National Concert Hall, Dublin, and the Winnipeg Folk Festival in Canada.
Buille are back now with a new project and album entitled “Buille 2”. This is a much more ambitious project featuring more large scale compositions and arrangements and utilizing a much bigger ensemble.
The new album will feature guest appearances from another brother Cillian on uilleann pipes, Zoë Conway on fiddle, Karen Dervan on viola, Kate Ellis on cello, Neil Yates on trumpet and flugelhorn, Ed Boyd and Paul Meehan on guitars and Brian Morrissey on bodhrán, percussion and banjo. The album will be released in Ireland in May and from then the band intends to bring the project on tour across the UK and Europe.


1. The wrong house

2. Grappa groove

3. Farewell to McCarthy's

4. Singing stream air

5. 1st of August

6. Eleven eight

7. Mullacreevie

8. Longnancy's

9. Gleann an Phréacháin - Valley of the crow

10. Tiarnán and Stephanie's