Artist: Nekouda

Name: Nekouda

Released: 2011

Label: Magda

Format: Digipack

Total playing: 55'00

Bonus: Import Israel

Price : 12.50 €


Availability : Receive an email

Ref.: DI00577MAGD


Nekouda (Nekouda)

Throughout many centuries in Southern France (going back to late antiquity), the former jewish communities of Provence developped a culture and way of life, many traces of which still subsist. The most notable of these is their music; music for festive gatherings, music of light, like the sun of lands in which Jewish people found themselves, in the heart of which one encounters the oriental night.

Judeo-Provençal music, born from the crossroads of Spain, Italy and the Northern Europe, conveys many contrasting influences. In Judeo-Provençal music, one hears the subtleties and delights of Italian baroque and French medieval music, as well as the traces of three different Andalusian cultures, all of these brought together under the flag of Southern France, Occitanie.

Through Nekouda's work, this unpublished and forgotten repertoire of the Provençal Diaspora's musical heritage returns to light.

Nekouda - Musicians

  • Corinne DRAI : vocals
  • Alain HUET : vocals, lute, clarinet
  • Pierre-Laurent BERTOLINO : hurdy-gurdy
  • Thomas BOURGEOIS : percussions, rek, zarb, daf
  • Gaël ASCASO : pipes, tambourine

Nekouda - Sound extracts

  • Beroukhim atem
  • Messies qu'entendes
  • El nora - Introduction
  • El nora - Thème
  • Be kol rina
  • Eth shaarei ratson
  • Simeu amin eth makovi
  • Az yachir moshé
  • Hallel
  • Achir be misharim
  • Ouphros
  • Had gadia
  • Semihim be tsetam
  • Be yadekha itotay - Instrumental
  • Shir ha shirim
  • Lekha dodi
  • Kol beroueï - Instrumental
  • Tsour michelo
  • Lekha dodi - Instrumental