Artist: Llio Rhydderch

Name: Melangell

Released: 2000

Label: Fflach:tradd

Format: Cristal

Total playing: 51'21

Bonus: Import Wales

Price : 12.50 €

Add to the basket

Ref.: CR00109FFLA


Melangell (Llio Rhydderch)

This CD is insired by St Melangell, and there are fifteen tracks on this album which include Blodau'r Grug, Alaw i Nansi, Dafydd y Garreg Wen and Difyrrwch y Brenin. Llio is the leading exponent of the triple harp in Wales and has been praised by the late great Derek Bell of The Chieftains. Her playing is captivating, and in the words of Andrew Cronshaw, who wrote in the UK magazine Folk Roots: "In Llio Rhydderch resides the living tradition of the old Welsh harpers in all its glory... in this enormously skilful, brilliant player of the triple harp".

Llio Rhydderch - Musicians

  • Llio RHYDDERCH : harp

Melangell - Sound extracts

  • Melangell
  • Tri Croen - Three Skins
  • Castell Rhos y Llan - Roslin Castle
  • Blodau'r Grug - Flowers Of The Heather
  • Alawon Môn - Anglesey Tunes
  • Y Bardd Yn Ei Awen - The Bard In His Muse
  • Alaw I Nansi (Teyrnged Disgybl) - Tune For Nansi (A Pupil's Tribute)
  • Dafydd Y Garreg Wen - Dafydd Of The White Rock
  • Waltz Trefforest
  • Ffarwel i F'engctid - Farewell To My Youth
  • Gorweddwch Eich Hun - Sleep Your Slumber
  • Difyrrwch y Brenin - The King's Joy
  • Ar Lan y Môr - On The Sea Shore
  • Breuddwyd y Frenhines - The Queen's Dream
  • Ffarwel i Gymru - Farewell To Wales