Bel Canto

Artist: Eilidh Mackenzie

Name: Bel Canto

Released: 2009

Label: Macmeanmna

Format: Digipack

Total playing: 59'00

Bonus: Import Scotland

Price : 12.50 €

Add to the basket

Ref.: DI00436MACM


Bel Canto (Eilidh Mackenzie)

A story of songs inspired by the novel of the same name by American author, Ann Patchett.

The songs follow the story of Ann Patchett’s “Bel Canto”. Set in South America, I’ve taken the story and put it in a Gaelic context. It is a story of love, of music and of communication.

Eilidh Mackenzie - Musicians

  • Eilidh MACKENZIE : narration, vocal, backing vocals
  • Michael MARRA, Ann PATCHETT : narration
  • Elizabeth MCCORMACK : vocal
  • Ged GRIMES : bowed bass, bass, percussion, guitars, mandolin, whistling, backing vocals
  • Christine HANSON : cello
  • Gordon GUNN : mandolin, fiddle
  • Gillian MACKENZIE : backing vocals
  • Fiona (Gress) MACKENZIE : backing vocals
  • Brian MCALPINE : piano, backing vocals, accordion, guitar, percussion
  • Terry SMALL : guitar
  • Michael MARRA : vocal, piano
  • Eddi READER : backing vocals
  • Allan MACDONALD : backing vocals, tromb
  • James GRAHAM : vocal, backing vocals
  • Anna MELDRUM : vocal

Bel Canto - Sound extracts

  • Pago io vovro: a chiad pòg; the first kiss
  • Chan eil cuimhn' am
  • Here we go again
  • 'S mise gam tholadh
  • Òganaich mo chridhe
  • Suidh san oisean
  • Cesar's Tree
  • An Còmhradh: Sandra Kerr
  • Cait an robh thu ghealltaire ghallda?
  • Gentle Kisses: an darna phòg; the second kiss
  • Faillirinn o ille ghasta
  • Rèidhphort
  • Direach nar dithis: an treas pòg; the third kiss