Wannabi - The prophet

Artist: Barak Ben Zour

Name: Wannabi - The prophet

Released: 2010

Label: Magda

Format: Cristal

Total playing: 51'00

Bonus: Import Israel

Price : 12.50 €

Add to the basket

Ref.: CR00535MAGD


Wannabi - The prophet (Barak Ben Zour)

The creation of this CD has been a long and profound journey. Growing up in a family of Yemenite descent, I started my musical path paying drums in live concerts and recording sessions. A few years ago, I resolved to reconnect with the roots of traditional Yemenite music and, as part of the process, I found myself returning to synagogue and enriching my spirit through the meditative melodies of Jewish prayers. Soon after, I felt the urge to create my own music: drafts were scribbled, nourished, and finally grown into complete pieces or rather, almost complete.during this process of working on this album, I realized that it would not be whole if I do not weave personal and social aspects into my music as well. I aspire to create an up-to-date sound which combines Western and Middle -Eastern music. I strongly believe that this music holds its own power of bringing these two worlds together and creating an open and better channel of communication amongst the people.

Barak Ben Zour - Musicians

  • Barak BEN ZOUR : drums, keyboards, percussion
  • Ishay DANOCH : keyboards
  • Avi ADRIAN : keyboards
  • Yaron SURIANO : bass
  • Uri KLEINMAN : bass
  • Yaniv TAICHMAN : oud, saz
  • Erez MUNK : percussions
  • Ehud TAMIR : programming
  • Tze'ela, Igal MIZRAHI, Lior GREIDI, Gili GREIDI : voices

Wannabi - The prophet - Sound extracts

  • Kiria
  • Sar Hamemune
  • Habib Zecharya
  • Shaday
  • Wanabi
  • Yuma
  • Lecha Eli
  • Yo Shema
  • Ya Jama'a
  • Savta Shulamit